Supervisory board of the UFZ

(Date: September 2018)

The Supervisory Board of the Helmholtz-Centre for Environmental Research monitors the lawful, appropriate and efficient conduct of the executive management and makes decisions about the general research goals and relevant research policy issues and financial matters of the centre.


MinDirig Dr. h. c. Wilfried Kraus
Federal Ministry for Education and Research


Dieter Ernst
IWC-innovation and water consult

Dr. Mark Frenzel
Helmholtz Centre for Environmental Research - UFZ, Department of Community Ecology

MinDirig Dr. Barbette Gläser
Saxony National Ministry for Sience and Art

Prof. Dr. Manfred Grasserbauer
former university professor

MinR Dr. Jürgen Jakobs
Federal Ministry for the Environment, Nature Conservation and Nucelar Safety

Dr. Katrin Mackenzie
Helmholtz Centre for Environmental Research - UFZ, Department of Environmental Engineering

Prof. Dr. Wolfram Mauser
Department of Geography, Ludwig-Maximilians-University Munich

MinR Thomas Reitmann
Ministry of Science and Economic Affairs of Saxony-Anhalt

Prof. Dr. med. Beate A. Schücking
Rector of the University of Leipzig

Prof. Dr. Christina von Haaren
Leibniz Universität Hannover, Leiterin des Instituts für Umweltplanung