MOSES falls under the purview of the “Earth and Environment” management board. It has a central governance and operation structure and is coordinated by the Helmholtz Centre for Environmental Research (UFZ) in Leipzig.

MOSES Organigram MOSES Organigram of the operating phase.

The MOSES Coordinator is in charge of the overall organisation and acts as the central contact person for MOSES, including overarching activities in the areas of public relations, technology transfer and publications.

The Scientific Steering Committee is in charge of the overall scientific management. The nine participating centres are represented by generally one scientific member and an alternate.

The Campaign Coordinator for Meteorological and Hydrological Extremes organizes the often short-termed operations required to capture heavy rains and floods or the development of heatwaves and droughts. As a prerequisite, operational plans are developed and continuously optimized.

The Data Management Team is responsible for the coordination, operation and advancement of the MOSES data management amongst the centres and external partners. A data management infrastructure has been developed and needs to be maintained and continuously adapted. The data management team comprises about two members from each centre: data scientists, IT-specialists or software developers.

The Teams for Meteorological and Hydrological Extremes, Abrupt Permafrost Thaw, and Carbon Dynamics in Ocean Events develop, organize and analyze the observation campaigns.

Project Coordination

Dr. Ute Weber, UFZ |

Campaign Coordination Meteorological and Hydrological Extremes

Prof. Claudia Schütze, UFZ |

Prof. Philipp Fischer, AWI |
Prof. Julia Boike, AWI |

Prof. Irena Hajnsek, DLR |

Prof. Harry Vereecken, FZJ |
Prof. Martin Riese, FZJ |

Prof. Arne Körtzinger, GEOMAR |
Prof. Johannes Karstensen, GEOMAR |

Prof. Bruno Merz, GFZ |
Prof. Torsten Sachs, GFZ |

Prof. Michael Schloter, HMGU |
Prof. J.-P. Schnitzler, HMGU |

Dr. Holger Brix, HEREON |
Dr. Tina Sanders, HEREON |

Prof. Peter Knippertz, KIT |
Prof. Hans-Peter Schmid, KIT |

Prof. Peter Dietrich, UFZ |
Prof. Sabine Attinger, UFZ | 

Evolution and Impacts of Meteorological Extremes
Prof. Peter Knippertz, KIT |

Evolution and Impacts of Floods and Low Flows in Aquatic Systems
Prof. Dietrich Borchardt, UFZ |
Prof. Philipp Fischer, AWI |

Evolution and Impacts of Heat and Droughts in Terrestrial Systems
Prof. Nicolas Brüggemann, FZJ |