Organization

MOSES has a central governance and operation structure. The Steering Committee falls under the purview of the “Earth and Environment” management board and is in charge of the overall scientific and technical management. Data management and logistics teams will support the steering committee. Regular user meetings and additional thematic working groups are planned. For the 5-year implementation phase, an implementation office (Helmholtz Centre for Environmental Research, UFZ) and a central data management coordination office (Helmholtz Centre Potsdam - German Research Centre for Geosciences, GFZ) have been established. 

MOSES is coordinated by the Helmholtz Centre for Environmental Research (UFZ) in Leipzig.

Organigram
MOSES Organigram

Project Coordination

Dr. Ute Weber, UFZ | ute.weber@ufz.de

Dr. Claudia Schütze, UFZ | claudia.schuetze@ufz.de
(Implementation Office Coordination)
Dr. Dorit Kerschke, GFZ | doritk@gfz-potsdam.de
(Data Management Coordination)

Steering Committee

Prof. Philipp Fischer, AWI | Philipp.Fischer@awi.de
Prof. Irena Hajnsek, DLR | Irena.Hajnsek@dlr.de
Prof. Harry Vereecken, FZJ | h.vereecken@fz-juelich.de
Prof. Jens Greinert, GEOMAR | jgreinert@geomar.de
Prof. Bruno Merz, GFZ | bmerz@gfz-potsdam.de
Prof. Jörg-Peter Schnitzler, HMGU | jp.schnitzler@helmholtz-muenchen.de
Prof. Burkard Baschek, HZG | Burkard.Baschek@hzg.de
Prof. Hans-Peter Schmid, KIT | Hape.schmid@kit.edu
Prof. Peter Dietrich, UFZ | Peter.dietrich@ufz.de

Coordination of Working Groups

Heat Waves:
Prof. Astrid Kiendler-Scharr, FZJ | a.kiendler-scharr@fz-juelich.de
Prof. Nicolas Brüggemann, FZJ | n.brueggemann@fz-juelich.de

Hydrological Extremes:
Prof. Dietrich Borchardt, UFZ | dietrich.borchardt@ufz.de
Prof. Philipp Fischer, AWI | Philipp.Fischer@awi.de

Ocean Eddies:
Prof. Burkard Baschek, HZG | Burkard.Baschek@hzg.de

Rapid Permafrost Thaw:
PD Dr. Julia Boike, AWI | Julia.Boike@awi.de