Profile of HIGRADE participants

profile_photo_Sarah Haenelt
Name: Sarah Haenelt (Germany)

Department Isotope Biogeochemistry

Flag Germany
Research topic

Fate and effects of antibiotics in surface waters

At UFZ since

June 2020

Why did you come to the UFZ?

I always wanted to protect our planet and here I got the chance to contribute to environmental research. My project is part oft he PhD college FATE, where I can get in close contact with other researchers of different knowledge fields and nations. Besides, the institute is multidisciplinary and international. Here I get the chance to work in an inspiring atmosphere on a topic that really matters to me.

What do you like about the city you live in?

For me, Leipzig is a perfect place to live. You can easily access every location by bike and there are green forests and many lakes for recreation nearby. It is also a very remote, but still dynamic and young city with a lot of small bars and restaurants. There are plenty of opportunities for activities, you can even canoe to the lakes right from the city center (crazy?!).

How do you like it at the UFZ / in HIGRADE?

The UFZ is a great place to work. I am surrounded by like-minded people, that are always willing to help out. The atmosphere is international and energetic and I love the layout of our campus, especially the frogs ;) HIGRADE offers many courses to improve my research and soft skills. It is also a great opportunity to meet researchers from different fields. I always know where to go if I need some advice.

Personal information ("what else to do", etc.)

We must preserve our planet. Alongside my work as a PhD student, I do my best to protect our environment and to live a sustainable, fulfilling life. Despite the increasing number of catastrophes all over the world, I am a happy and positive person and make the most of every situation. A bad mood won't save our earth either, so keep smiling :)


I like to spend my free time out in nature. There is nothing better than going for a hike or cycling trip on a summer weekend. Besides I play volleyball and do Yoga and I am really passionate about rock-climbing as well. If there is no chance to get outside, I spend my time reading, sewing, and cooking.