ProVIS Header

ProVIS - Centre for Chemical Microscopy

Helmholtz Centre for Environmental Research – UFZ, Permoserstrasse 15, 04318 Leipzig

Supported by

European structural funds and Federal State of Saxony
Helmholtz Association
Provis Header

Our research is focussed on visualisation and quantification of microbially mediated processes and the role of microorganisms in C, N, S and metal transformation in natural and polluted environments. The aim is in situ analysis of function, structure and identity of microorganisms involved in e.g. corrosion, bioleaching and biomineralisation and how single cell metabolism is impacting the ecosystem functioning.


Project Leader: Hans H. Richnow
hans.richnow@ufz.de

Tel.: +49 (0) 341 235 1212 // Fax.: +49 (0) 341 235 450822


Team leader: Niculina Musat
niculina.musat@ufz.de

Tel.: +49 (0) 341 235 4656 // Fax.: +49 (0) 341 235 450822


Secondary Ion Spectrometry and Microscopy: Hryhoriy Stryhanyuk
gregory.stryhanyuk@ufz.de

Tel.: +49 (0) 341 235 1359 // Fax.: +49 (0) 341 235 450822


Electron- and Helium-Ion Microscopy: Matthias Schmidt
matthias.schmidt@ufz.de

Tel.: +49 (0) 341 235 1358 // Fax.: +49 (0) 341 235 450822


FTICR-MS: Oliver Lechtenfeld

oliver.lechtenfeld@ufz.de

Tel: +49 (0) 341 235 1020 // Fax: +49 (0) 341 235 450822


Laser Ablation and ICP-MS: Stephan Wagner

stephan.wagner@ufz.de

Tel.: +49 (0) 341 235 4768


Geobiochemistry and Protein-Mass-Spectroscopy: Lorenz Adrian
lorenz.adrian@ufz.de

Tel.: +49 (0) 341 235 1435 // Fax: +49 (0) 341 235 451435


Ph.-Schwartz Fellow: Nedal Said
nedal.said@ufz.de

Fax: +49 (0) 341 235 451435


Post-Doctoral Fellow: Johan Decelle
johan.decelle@ufz.de

Tel.: +49 (0) 341 235 4657 // Fax: +49 (0) 341 235 451435


Lab Assistant AZUBI: Katja Nerlich
katja.nerlich@ufz.de

Tel.: +49 (0) 341 235 4723 // Fax: +49 (0) 341 235 451435